Monday, July 11, 2011

Werecats #6: Alpha (2010)

Rachel Vincent (Shift)

Alpha picked up after the events in Shift (2010). before any war was launched, a vote was arranged for a new council for all the Prides. Malone was determined to be the new leader, which strings he pulled in more than 1 direction behind everyone's back. Faythe suffered loss in this book like never before, including her father, her Pride, her house n her love. Marc, who promised their Alpha, Faythe's father, to help her take care of the Pride after his death, walked out on her when she couldn't decide whether it was Marc or Jace that she wanted for life. yet he did not abandon the Pride, bring Bruins (werebears) to their final battle against Malone n his men, which very much was their ticket to victory.

after finishing Shift (2010), i was dreaded to start reading Alpha (2010), because once i start, it will be the end for the Shifters series that i enjoyed so much! it was difficult to leave Faythe, Marc n Jace behind after i had ventured with them, cried with them, n felt their pain n suffering. it was difficult not to feel attached to the characters. Faythe's growth in the previous books was nothing compared to her growth in Alpha (2010). the book was a non-stop roller coaster ride filled with both emotions n actions. it was sad when some of the favorite characters died in war, but it was completely understandable n still extremely satisfying!

author: Rachel Vincent
published: 2010
genre: Fantasy

Shifters series:
- Stray (2007)
- Rogue (2008)
- Pride (2009)
- Prey (2009)
- Shift (2010)
- Alpha (2010)


  1. Wow....these werecats are quite wild o. :D

  2. o.O

    Are these like werewolves? :3

  3. TEKKAUS: they absolutely are!

    LADYVIRAL: exactly, just instead of turning into wolves during full moon. the werecats get to transformed (or shift, the word they use) whenever it was required.