Monday, December 12, 2011

Riley Bloom #1: Radiance (2010)


after the crash, Riley lingered on earth plane. when she finally crossed the bridge that led to the afterlife, she picked up where she left off when she was alive, living with her parents and dog in their house in the neighborhood. the difference was, the rest of the houses was empty, with its residence still breathing and alive on the earth plane. she headed to school, only to find out that it was different from the school she experienced before. she went through a series of classes, not understanding the flow of events with no one there to give her a hint or two. when she was summoned before the Council, she leaned that the afterlife wasn't just an eternity of relaxation, each and everyone of them had to find their "soul work". Riley was assigned to be a soul catcher, retrieving souls from earth plane that refused to move on, refused to cross the bridge. her first assignment was to get Radiant Boy, who had been haunting a castle in England for centuries, to cross the bridge.

having just read the complete collection of Alyson Noël's Immortals (2009-2011) series, i started with Radiance (2010) with expectations. Riley had always been one of the interesting characters i can't wait to read more about. unfortunately it had no connection whatsoever with Ever, it was all about her afterlife and soul catching experience. it was short and easy to read, but even though there were some built up tension leading to its climax, it didn't feel as satisfying and in depth, perhaps perfect for junior readers.

author: Alyson Noël
published: 2010
genre: Fantasy

the Riley Bloom series:
- Radiance (2010)
- Shimmer (2011)
- Dreamland (2011)
- Whisper (2012)

No comments :

Post a Comment