Thursday, March 29, 2012

Women of the Otherworld #10: Frostbitten (2009)


after the first (Bitten, 2001) and second (Stolen, 2003) book, the tenth book finally returned its focus to Elena the werewolf. Jeremy their Alpha decided to name her his next successor. with stress building up inside her, Elena ran across the globe chasing down a mutt, which led to the discovering of gruesome killings deep in the Alaska frozen forest. with Clay, they found out that a pair of man-eating rogue were responsible for the missing people, it was calling more than enough attention to itself, threatened to expose the werewolf community. while Elena and Clay chase against time to stop these killers, they came across creatures so ancient that no one knew they existed outside legends.

after struggling to complete reading Living with the Dead (2008), Frostbitten (2009) was absolutely an easy-read. not only was Elena's werewolf hunting intense and life threatening, it challenged her bond with Clay when they, the hunters, became the hunted. it was engaging to see the ghost in Elena's past haunting her, keeping her from giving her best in battles. with the enemy smart enough to separate Elena from Clay, there were so much more going on within her. in some small part of the book, Clay who was seemingly impatient turned out to be a surprisingly great parent! a few short phone-calls home was enough to show what a beautiful family they shared.

author: Kelley Armstrong
published: 2009
genre: Fantasy

Women of the Otherworld series:
- Bitten (2001)
- Stolen (2003)
- Dime Store Magic (2004)
- Industrial Magic (2004)
- Haunted (2005)
- Broken (2006)
- No Humans Involved (2007)
- Personal Demon (2008)
- Living with the Dead (2008)
- Frostbitten (2009)
- Waking the Witch (2010)
- Spellbound (2011)
- Thirteen (2012)

Otherworld extras:
- Men of the Otherworld (2009)
- Tales of the Otherworld (2010)

No comments :

Post a Comment