Sunday, November 17, 2013

Demon Kissed #2: Cursed (2011)


the last prophecy had mentioned that a girl would taking down the Demon Lord, Kreturus, and became Demon Queen herself. it was said that the prophecy girl would appear with a violet mark, instead of a blue mark for a Martis, or a red mark for a Valefar. originally a Martis, Ivy bore the violet mark since she barely escaped death in the hand of a Valefar. Collin, her Valefar boyfriend, sacrificed himself by jumping into the pit opened by the Valefars to save her from being sucked into it, where Ivy survived by helping the Martis to close up the pit. since then, she had been having nightmares and visions of Collin in the underworld, tortured by Kreturus with the intention of luring her to him. to make matter worst, the Martis still doesn't consider her their ally.

while the first book had its backdrop set on a modern day high school, the second book was moved to an ancient building where the Martis headquarter was at. lacking the familiar atmosphere, the story started to lose me as it became more fantasy than relatable. i hung on for it to capture me again like it did the first book. fortunately the wait was worthwhile as i was soon absorbed into the story after going through half of the book. the twists were difficult to foresee and it came as a pleasant surprise, bringing the story to its climax when least expected.

author: H.M. Ward
published: 2011
genre: Paranormal/Romance

Demon Kissed series:
- Demon Kissed (2011)
- Cursed (2011)
- Torn (2011)
- Satan's Stone (2012)
- The 13th Prophecy (2012)
- Assassin: Fall of the Golden Valefar (2012)
- Valefar Vol. 1: Demon Kissed Novella (2011)
- Valefar Vol. 2: Demon Kissed Novella (2012)

No comments :

Post a Comment