Monday, April 02, 2012

Women of the Otherworld #11: Waking the Witch (2010)

Waking the Witch

eleventh book into the Women of the Otherworld series (2001-2012), it followed the story of Savannah, the daughter of Eve, the dark witch and Kristof, the sorcerer. after years taken in by Paige the witch and Lucas the sorcerer, Savannah now worked at their investigation agency, with impressive knowledge of spells and the supernatural world. having a hard time convincing her adoptive parents to take her seriously as an adult, she jumped at the chance when Jesse, a supernatural detective offered her a chance to call a case her own. Savannah was confident that she can handle the case, but finding more and more clues indicating the involvement of the supernaturals, things quickly got out of hand and turned more dangerous than she realized.

Savannah had a strong personality, a little arrogant and stubborn, but definitely one of those lovable characters that grew in our heart. what appeared to be the doing of a local occult group turned out to be revenge from the afterlife, returning to claim her life. being the daughter of a dark witch and sorcerer made her spell casting ability extremely powerful, yet the moment these abilities were stripped from her was when she was forced to admit that this was too much for her. like the previous installments, this book gave a lot of unexpected twists and complications to keep us entertained, especially when some people were being too helpful, too informative, or even too held back. i was absolutely impressed at how much Savannah reminded us of our teenage years, where romance easily becomes the priority.

author: Kelley Armstrong
published: 2010
genre: Fantasy

Women of the Otherworld series:
- Bitten (2001)
- Stolen (2003)
- Dime Store Magic (2004)
- Industrial Magic (2004)
- Haunted (2005)
- Broken (2006)
- No Humans Involved (2007)
- Personal Demon (2008)
- Living with the Dead (2008)
- Frostbitten (2009)
- Waking the Witch (2010)
- Spellbound (2011)
- Thirteen (2012)

Otherworld extras:
- Men of the Otherworld (2009)
- Tales of the Otherworld (2010)

No comments :

Post a Comment