Friday, January 14, 2011

Werecats #1: Stray (2007)


Stray (2007) is the first book of the Shifter series. Faythe is a female werecat, desperately trying to escape the Pride, a territory led by her father, which one day soon will be hers to rule. she wanted a "normal" human life, not ready of the responsibilities that include marriage n childbearing. her ex-fiancé, Marc, appeared one day at her college, informing her that 2 tabbies (female werecats, which were considered valuable to the werecat community) were kidnapped by Strays (humans who became werecats after being scratched or bitten by a werecat), thus she was summoned back to the Pride to be protected by her brothers n ex. but one mistake caused her to be the third tabby kidnapped. she had to fight to free herself n the remaining tabby against the Strays.

i started from dislike to liking this book. first half of the book was mostly focused on her bad attitude, her rebelliousness n her aim to defy everything her parents or Pride requested of her. in a long-winded way it was presented, the point was more than clear that she was impossible to control. but after she was kidnapped, the story turned absolutely delicious! she then realized how indirectly her father trained her for desperate situation like this, to defend herself instead of being push around by the strays, like what the remaining tabby had been doing just to stay alive. it was fun (n gory at some point), n truly exciting following her shape-shifting adventure!

author: Rachel Vincent
published: 2007
genre: Fantasy

Shifters series:
- Stray (2007)
- Rogue (2008)
- Pride (2009)
- Prey (2009)
- Shift (2010)
- Alpha (2010)


  1. Shifter??? Wow, a brand new story plot in the market!!! :)

  2. akira:
    yes, if you consider 2007 new?